IMIS | Flanders Marine Institute

Flanders Marine Institute

Platform for marine research


Publications | Institutes | Persons | Datasets | Projects | Maps
[ report an error in this record ] Print this page

Network of Aquaculture Centres in Asia-Pacific (NACA)

Type: International


NACA is an intergovernmental organization that promotes rural development through sustainable aquaculture. NACA seeks to improve rural income, increase food production and foreign exchange earnings and to diversify farm production. The ultimate beneficiaries of NACA activities are farmers and rural communities. The core activities of NACA are:

* Capacity building through education and training;
* Collaborative research and development through networking among centers and people;
* Development of information and communication networks;
* Policy guidelines and support to policies and institutional capacities;
* Aquatic animal health and disease management; and
* Genetics and biodiversity.


NACA policy is determined by the Governing Council composed of high officials representing in the member governments. The Governing Council regularly meets once a year and formulates NACA's 5-Year Regional Work Programme. FAO is a non-voting member. The NACA Agreement provides for other international and government assistance agencies to be non-voting members, by invitation.


Current member governments are Australia, Bangladesh, Cambodia, China, Hong Kong SAR, India, Indonesia, I.R. Iran, Korea (DPR), Malaysia, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan, Philippines, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Vietnam. Other participating (non-member) governments include Rep. of Korea, Lao PDR and Singapore.

Collaborating agencies

NACA conducts development assistance projects throughout the region in partnership with governments, donor foundations, development agencies, universities and a range of non-government organizations and farmers. NACA supports institutional strengthening, technical exchange and the development of policies for sustainable aquaculture and aquatic resource management.

NACA’s partners include organizations such as FAO, United Nations Development Programme, the Asian Development Bank, World Bank, OIE (World Animal Health Organization), the Mekong River Commission, ICLARM, SEAFDEC, APEC, ASEAN, European Union, DANIDA, DFID, ACIAR, AusAID, DANCED, IDRC, IFREMER, NORAD, the Asian Institute of Technology, World Wide Fund for Nature, MacArthur Foundation and the Rockefeller Brothers Fund.

Project  Top 
  • AFSPAN: Aquaculture for Food Security, Poverty Alleviation and Nutrition, more

All data in the Integrated Marine Information System (IMIS) is subject to the VLIZ privacy policy Top | Project