IMIS | Flanders Marine Institute
 

Flanders Marine Institute

Platform for marine research

IMIS

Publications | Institutes | Persons | Datasets | Projects | Maps
[ report an error in this record ]basket (0): add | show Print this page

The vital question: Energy, evolution, and the origins of complex life
Lane, N. (2015). The vital question: Energy, evolution, and the origins of complex life. W.W. Norton & Company: New York, London. ISBN 978-0-393-08881-6. 300 pp.
Related to:
Lane, N. (2018). De belangrijkste vraag van het leven: waarom is het leven zoals het is? Prometheus: Amsterdam. ISBN 9789044636598. 420 pp., more
Cover

Available in  Author 
    VLIZ: General Biology BIO [100809]

Keyword
    Biological phenomena > Evolution
Author keywords
    Origin; cells; Energy metabolism

Author  Top 
  • Lane, N.

Abstract
    Why is life the way it is? Bacteria evolved into complex life just once in four billion years of life on earth-and all complex life shares many strange properties, from sex to ageing and death. If life evolved on other planets, would it be the same or completely different? In The Vital Question, Nick Lane radically reframes evolutionary history, putting forward a cogent solution to conundrums that have troubled scientists for decades. The answer, he argues, lies in energy: how all life on Earth lives off a voltage with the strength of a bolt of lightning. In unravelling these scientific enigmas, making sense of life's quirks, Lane's explanation provides a solution to life's vital questions: why are we as we are, and why are we here at all? This is ground-breaking science in an accessible form, in the tradition of Charles Darwin's The Origin of Species, Richard Dawkins' The Selfish Gene, and Jared Diamond's Guns, Germs and Steel.

All data in the Integrated Marine Information System (IMIS) is subject to the VLIZ privacy policy Top | Author