Expedition with research vessel Belgica to the Brown Bank | Flanders Marine Institute
 

Flanders Marine Institute

Platform for marine research

Expedition with research vessel Belgica to the Brown Bank

Oostende, Belgium (2018.04.06) - Lost at sea! Marine experts accompany archaeologists on an expedition to the prehistoric settlement of the Brown Bank. For two years, marine expeditions in the southern North Sea will search for prehistoric, flooded settlements in the Brown Bank area. The first expedition will start on 10 April. In this expedition, teams from the University of Bradford (England), Ghent University and the Flanders Marine Institute (VLIZ) join forces to carry out detailed geophysical characterizations of the area, after which sediment samples will be collected to be examined on the presence of human activity.

Press release by: RBINS-OD Environment, Ghent University, Flanders Marine Institute (VLIZ) and University of Bradford

Press contacts

In Belgium

RBINS-OD Environment, Communication Officer
Kelle Moreau: +32-(0)2-773 21 35 | +32-(0)486-125 877 | kmoreau@naturalsciences.be

Ghent University, Academic contact
dr David Garcia Moreno: +32-(0)9-264 4637 | +32-(0)484-693 136 | david.garciamoreno@ugent.co

Flanders Marine Institute (VLIZ), Communication Officer
dr Jan Seys:  +32-(0)478-376 413 | jan.seys@vliz.be

Vlaams Instituut voor de Zee (VLIZ), Academic contact
dr Tine Missiaen: +32-(0)474-512 021 | tine.missiaen@vliz.be

In United Kingdom

University of Bradford, Press Office
Jenny Watkinson: j.watkinson2@bradford.ac.uk

University of Bradford, Academic contact
Prof. Vincent Gaffney: v.gaffney@bradford.ac.uk
Principle Investigator: “Europe’s Lost Frontiers” Project, School of Archaeological and Forensic Sciences, University of Bradford