Partners | Battle For The North Sea


The exhibition '14 – '18, the battle for the North Sea is an initiative by the Flanders Marine Institute and Toerisme Vlaanderen in partnership with the War Heritage Institute, Westtoer, the Province of West Flanders and the city of Bruges.



Tomas Termote is the curator of this exhibition. Mr Termote obtained a master’s degree in history, archaeology and maritime archaeology, and is an experienced diver. He has extensively studied shipwrecks throughout the world, including many wrecks in the North Sea, and has written several publications on this subject. His many years of in-depth research into the numerous wrecks of German U-boats which belonged to the Flanders Flotilla (U-Flottille Flandern) during the First World War has resulted in a book entitled ‘War Beneath the Waves,  U-Boat Flottilla Flandern 1915-1918’. Together with governor Carl Decaluwé, Mr Termote published another book in 2015: ‘The Raid on Zeebrugge: 23 April 1918, as Seen Through the Eyes of Captain Alfred Carpenter, VC’.

Steering committee

The exhibition project is also supported by a motivated steering committee led by Carl Decaluwé, governor of the province of West Flanders.

Carl Decaluwé, governor of the province of West Flanders and chairman of the Board of Directors of VLIZ (Flanders Marine Institute)

Nic Van der Marliere, General Representative of the Flemish Government in the United Kingdom and Ireland

Koen Bovée
Jean-Marie De Plancke
Wim De Winter
Hubert De Witte
Dominique Henrard
Nathalie Keersebilck
Freddy Philips
Ruth Pirlet
Jan Seys
Tomas Termote


Koen Bovée
in collaboration with Pascal Van Hoorebeke (graphic design),
Reinout Goddyn (photography and film production), Gerry De Mol (final editing),
3CS Jan Lansen, Johan De Bosschere, Dajo Peeters, Robijn Dufloo,
Jules Van Puymbrouck (showcases, set construction and soclage), Peter
Willems (vectorial drawing), Create Multimedia (animation and hardware
multimedia), Chris Pype en team (lighting), Chantal Vandenberghe
(framing), Samsuffit (prints), Signoritas (floorprint)


Chantal Vandeberghe (De Andere Kijk)
Kathleen Ribbens (Domein Raversijde/Oostende)
Nadia Van Gampelaere, Kristel van Audenaeren en
An Verbruggen (Musea Brugge)