Dr Edouard Delcroix Prize: laureates and prize-giving ceremonies | Flanders Marine Institute

Flanders Marine Institute

Platform for marine research

Dr Edouard Delcroix Prize: laureates and prize-giving ceremonies

The Flanders Marine Institute vzw and HYDRO vzw organise the triennial international scientific Dr Edouard Delcroix Prize, and the – since 2021 annually organised – Incentive Award Dr. Edouard Delcroix in recognition of scientific research in the wider context of ocean and human health.


Dr. Edouard Delcroix Aanmoedigingsprijs 2021

Marine I. Severin
VLIZ - UGent - KU Leuven

'Emotional mechanisms underlying the beneficial impact of coastal environments on mental well-being’



Scientific Prize Dr Edouard Delcroix 2019

Dr Mathew White & the Blue Gym research team
European Centre for Environment and Human Health, University of Exeter Medical School (dr White, prof. Depledge & dr Wheeler); University of Plymouth (prof. Pahl)

'The Blue Gym 2009-2019: A decade of progress in human-marine interactions’

  • Download de laureate's presentation
  • Marine publications by the laureate
Dr Edouard Delcroix 2019 Incentive Award

Dr Emmanuel Van Acker
Ghent University, Belgium
Laboratory of Environmental Toxicology and Aquatic Ecology (GhEnToxLab)

'Biogenics in sea spray: the “new” thalassotherapy?'

  • Download de laureate's presentation
  • Marine publications by the laureate


Scientific Prize Dr Edouard Delcroix 2016

Dr. Irina Vetter
The University of Queensland, Australia
The Centre for Pain Research, Institute for Molecular Bioscience

'The pathophysiological mechanism of ciguatera’

Dr Edouard Delcroix 2016 Incentive Award

Dr. ir. Marjolein Vanoppen
Ghent University, Belgium
Particle and Interfacial Technology Group (PaInT)

'Seawater, drinking water of the future?'


Prof. Dr. Lora Elderkin Fleming
University of Exeter Medical School, United Kingdom
The European Centre for Environment & Human Health

'Harmful algal blooms, microbial pollution of marine waters, and climate change  beyond the state of the art (Oceans and Human Health)’


Dr Eric Honoré
Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS), France
Institut de Pharmacologie Moléculaire et Cellulaire

'Marine lipids and cellular excitability’


Prof Dr Jan Tytgat
Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium
Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Laboratory for Toxicology

'Toxins from jellyfish and sea anemones: a ‘sea’ of molecules with therapeutic potential’


Dr Farid Dahdouh-Guebas
Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Belgium
Faculty of Sciences, Department of Biology, Mangrove Management Group

'Mangrove ecosystem degradation and its effects on the quality of life of coastal subsistence communities in Third World countries’


Prof Dr René Van Grieken
University of Antwerp, Belgium
Faculty of Sciences, Department of Chemistry, Micro and Trace Analysis Centre

'Quality of the marine air: an overview of 30 years of research’


The prize was not awarded. The jury was of the opinion that none of the presented reports achieved the required scientific level.


By way of exception, the prize was not organised this year.


Shared prize:


Dr. J.-F. Rees
Université Catholique de Louvain, Belgium
Faculté des Sciences, Laboratoire de Physiologie animale

'Les luciférines d’organismes marins de profondeur: de nouveaux antioxydants très performants pour des applications thérapeutiques’


Dr. M. Witvrouw & Prof. Dr. E. De Clercq
Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium
Groep Biomedische Wetenschappen, Departement Microbiologie en Immunologie - Rega Instituut

'Sulphated polysaccharides extracted from sea algae as potential antiviral drugs’