NARMS source details

Erséus, C. (1992). A generic revision of the Phallodrilinae (Oligochaeta, Tubificidae). Zoologica Scripta. 21(1): 5-48.
10.1111/j.1463-6409.1992.tb00308.x [view]
Erséus, C.
A generic revision of the Phallodrilinae (Oligochaeta, Tubificidae)
Zoologica Scripta
21(1): 5-48
Available for editors  PDF available
The generic classification of the subfamily Phallodrilinae (with a total of 252 species) is revised according to phylogenetic principles. Morphological character patterns are assessed under the principle of maximum parsimony, but due to the poor resolution and instability in the resulting cladograms, the analysis is supplemented with intuitive weighting of synapomorphic similarities. Thirty-one genera are recognized. The former definition of the type genus Phallodrilus Picrantoni, 1902, is revised and the members of this genus are reclassified into 20 taxa, each hypothesized to be monophyletic: Phallodrilus s.str. (revised to contain the type species only), Somalidrilus gcn.n., Milliganius gen.n., Phallodriloides gen.n., Albanidrilus gen.n., Abyssidrilus gen.n., Paraktedrilus gen.n., Uniporodrilus Erséus, 1979, Inermidrilus gen.n., Gianius gen.n., Mexidrilus gen.n., Peosidrilus Baker & Erséus, 1979, Atlantidrilus Erséus, 1983, Thalassodrilus Brinkhurst, 1963, Pirodrilus gen.n., Pirodriloides gen.n., Marionidrilus gen.n., Pectinodrilus gen.n., Pacifidrilus gen.n. and Pseudospiridion gen.n. Nine new species are described from the Northwest Atlantic: Phallodriloides pinnulatus sp.n., Abyssidrilus opulentus sp.n., A. potens sp.n., A. altoides sp.n., Mexidrilus obtusus sp.n., Peosidrilus dalei sp.n., P. aduncus sp.n., P. riseri sp.n., and Atlantidrilus hamulus sp.n. The genus Discordiprostatus Baker, 1982, is synonymized with Nootkadrilus Baker, 1982.
RIS (EndNote, Reference Manager, ProCite, RefWorks)
BibTex (BibDesk, LaTeX)
2017-05-31 06:56:09Z
2017-07-30 15:12:54Z

Abyssidrilus Erséus, 1992 (original description)
Abyssidrilus altoides Erséus, 1992 (original description)
Abyssidrilus opulentus Erséus, 1992 (original description)
Abyssidrilus potens Erséus, 1992 (original description)
Adelodrilus Cook, 1969 (additional source)
Aktedrilus Knöllner, 1935 (additional source)
Bathydrilus Cook, 1970 (additional source)
Bermudrilus Erséus, 1979 (additional source)
Coralliodrilus Erséus, 1979 (additional source)
Gianius Erséus, 1992 (original description)
Inanidrilus Erséus, 1979 (additional source)
Inermidrilus Erséus, 1992 (original description)
Mexidrilus Erséus, 1992 (original description)
Mexidrilus obtusus Erséus, 1992 (original description)
Milliganius Erséus, 1992 (original description)
Milliganius sabulosus (Erséus, 1979) (new combination reference)
Olavius Erséus, 1984 (additional source)
Paraktedrilus Erséus, 1992 (original description)
Pectinodrilus Erséus, 1992 (original description)
Pectinodrilus rectisetosus (Erséus, 1979) (new combination reference)
Peosidrilus acochlearis (Erséus & Loden, 1981) (new combination reference)
Peosidrilus aduncus Erséus, 1992 (original description)
Peosidrilus dalei Erséus, 1992 (original description)
Phallodrilinae Brinkhurst, 1971 (additional source)
Phallodriloides Erséus, 1992 (original description)
Phallodriloides pinnulatus Erséus, 1992 (original description)
Phallodrilus acochlearis (Erséus & Loden, 1981) accepted as Peosidrilus acochlearis (Erséus & Loden, 1981) (new combination reference)
Phallodrilus bakeri Kossmagk-Stephan & Erséus, 1985 accepted as Paraktedrilus bakeri (Kossmagk-Stephan & Erséus, 1985) (new combination reference)
Phallodrilus biparis Erséus, 1983 accepted as Atlantidrilus biparis (Erséus, 1983) (new combination reference)
Phallodrilus boeschi Erséus, 1984 accepted as Peosidrilus boeschi (Erséus, 1984) (new combination reference)
Phallodrilus coeloprostatus Cook, 1969 accepted as Peosidrilus coeloprostatus (Cook, 1969) (new combination reference)
Phallodrilus cristolatus Erséus, 1983 accepted as Gianius cristolatus (Erséus, 1983) (new combination reference)
Phallodrilus densespectinis Erséus, 1987 accepted as Gianius densespectinis (Erséus, 1987) (new combination reference)
Phallodrilus duplex Erséus, 1987 accepted as Pectinodrilus duplex (Erséus, 1987) (new combination reference)
Phallodrilus firmus Erséus, 1979 accepted as Thalassodrilus firmus (Erséus, 1979) (new combination reference)
Phallodrilus flabellifer Erséus, 1984 accepted as Peosidrilus flabellifer (Erséus, 1984) accepted as Peosidriloides flabellifer (Erséus, 1994) (new combination reference)
Phallodrilus georgei Erséus, 1987 accepted as Inermidrilus georgei (Erséus, 1987) (new combination reference)
Phallodrilus hirsutus Erséus, 1986 accepted as Peosidrilus hirsutus (Erséus, 1986) (new combination reference)
Phallodrilus klarae Erséus, 1987 accepted as Thalassodrilus klarae (Erséus, 1987) (new combination reference)
Phallodrilus messanensis Erséus, 1987 accepted as Pirodrilus messanensis (Erséus, 1987) (new combination reference)
Phallodrilus minutissimus Erséus, 1987 accepted as Mexidrilus minutissimus (Erséus, 1987) (new combination reference)
Phallodrilus minutus Hrabe, 1973 accepted as Pirodrilus minutus (Hrabe, 1973) (new combination reference)
Phallodrilus molestus Erséus, 1988 accepted as Pectinodrilus molestus (Erséus, 1988) (new combination reference)
Phallodrilus monnioti Erséus, 1987 accepted as Gianius monnioti (Erséus, 1987) (new combination reference)
Phallodrilus nidarosiensis Erséus, 1987 accepted as Mexidrilus nidarosiensis (Erséus, 1987) (new combination reference)
Phallodrilus obscurus Cook, 1969 accepted as Peosidrilus obscurus (Cook, 1969) (new combination reference)
Phallodrilus parviatriatus Cook, 1971 accepted as Pirodrilus parviatriatus (Cook, 1971) (new combination reference)
Phallodrilus pinguis Erséus, 1983 accepted as Pirodrilus pinguis (Erséus, 1983) (new combination reference)
Phallodrilus postspermathecatus Erséus, 1980 accepted as Mexidrilus postspermathecatus (Erséus, 1980) (new combination reference)
Phallodrilus profundus Cook, 1970 accepted as Abyssidrilus profundus (Cook, 1970) (new combination reference)
Phallodrilus rectisetosus Erséus, 1979 accepted as Pectinodrilus rectisetosus (Erséus, 1979) (new combination reference)
Phallodrilus remus Erséus, 1979 accepted as Abyssidrilus remus (Erséus, 1979) (new combination reference)
Phallodrilus sabulosus Erséus, 1979 accepted as Milliganius sabulosus (Erséus, 1979) (new combination reference)
Phallodrilus vulnus Erséus, 1983 accepted as Atlantidrilus vulnus (Erséus, 1983) (new combination reference)
Pirodrilus Erséus, 1992 (original description)
Spiridion Knöllner, 1935 (additional source)
Thalassodrilus Brinkhurst, 1963 (additional source)